What's new

(RT-AX86U) Many IoT Devices - Would Aimesh Help?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Zesmine

New Around Here
Hi Everyone,

I'm a first timer on this forum hoping to get some feedback on the RT-AX86U router. I have been using the router for the past 6 months now and it had been working fine. However, I realized that my IoT devices starting to drop connection recently, which I can only attributed to my growing number of IoT devices in the home (no other changes made to router). The router is serving approximately 80 devices at this point, most of which are on the 2.4ghz, being smart light bulbs / strips, power sockets, etc.

I was thinking of splitting the load to improve the performance / connectivity by adding a node via the wired aimesh route but have a few concerns. Namely, my home area is quite small ~750ft in total and most devices are in the living / study (~400ft) - which means the new node would be placed ~ 4 metres or 13 ft from each other. Would this be too much wifi in the area? Would it be counter productive? I'm unsure as there is already quite alot of wifi interference from neighbouring signals (roughly 30 SSIDs found on wifi analyzer between 60 - 80dBm).