What's new

Samsung Blu Ray P1600 wireless dongle

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Cassidamius

New Around Here
Hi,
I am just beginning to read up on home networking and I am interested in connecting our Samsung P1600 Blu Ray player to the internet to stream Netflix. My internet connection is on our first floor and the TV/Blu Ray player are on the second floor, so I need to stream via the wireless router (Wireless-N).

Can I use any Wireless-N adapter such as this?
http://www.amazon.com/Medialink-Wireless-Adapter-802-11n-Compatible/dp/B002RM08RE/ref=pd_cp_e_2

Or, would you suggest I use the Samsung Dongle (at almost twice the price)?
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-WIS09ABGN-WIRELESS-LINKSTICK-WIS09ABGN2/dp/B004WAP3RY/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

I think our Samsung Plasma may be able to stream directly as well, but I'll have to look into that. I bought the Blu Ray for my girlfriend (now my wife) and she bought the TV about two years ago, so the TV capability will take more research on my part.

We watch very little TV and I am considering cutting the cord with our cable company for a cheaper alternative.

Thanks in advance! I just discovered this site yesterday when I decided we needed a new router and have spent a great deal of time reading the articles and forum threads.

Another idea I have is to use an extra Linksys WRT54G wireless router at my entertainment console as a bridge from my access point (Wireless-N router). Is this possible and will this give enough throughput to seamlessly stream internet content to my TV and BD player (2nd floor)?

ASUS RT-N56U at the access point (1st floor).

Additionally, our bedrooms are on the 3rd floor where we also would like to receive a strong Wi-Fi signal.

Last edited: