What's new

Surface mount box: where does cable go 'in' to box?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

_rnb_

New Around Here
Hi, I have a whack of 2 port commscope surface mount boxes (107984056 | M102SMB-B-262) and associated jacks (760237788 | UNJ600-WH) but can't for the life of me make sense of where the ethernet cable is supposed to go when the cover is put on.... there doesn't seem to be a hole in the cover to allow for the cable to run back to the switch.

The only hole I can see is on the top of the surface mount box (opposite where the user would eventually plug in their ethernet cables) I see a tiny rectangular hole in the cover right where it meets the base plate. Far too small (and wrong shape) for two ethernet cables.

On the back of the base plate on either side of the two base plate mounting screw holes there are two larger square holes which look like they'd fit an ethernet cable but that can't be because those holes would be inaccessible with the plate installed flat against the wall.

I looked through the installation PDF's and they don't address putting the cover back on. If there's a chance someone could help me figure this out I'd really appreciate it!

Cheers

edit: add photo of back side. FYI my walls are cement... is it possible this type of surface mount box expect the ethernet to come from within the wall? Hence the two square holes on the back of the base plate?

Attachments

• IMG_2984.jpg
    IMG_2984.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 512
  • IMG_3023.PNG
    IMG_3023.PNG
    210.8 KB · Views: 511
  • IMG_3023.PNG
    IMG_3023.PNG
    210.8 KB · Views: 448
Last edited:
The installation instructions say: