What's new

switch, router.lan setup

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Kelticmage

New Around Here
Hello All,

I am looking for advice re switching / routing and how it could be accomplished.
I am a newbie at this so I thank you all in advance for your patience.

My hardware is

Netgear Prosafe wireless firewall router DGFV338 x 2
Netgear Prosafe 24 port smartswitch FS726T x 1

I wish to setup 2 distinct networks , One containing
Network 1
1 x Sm Bus server 2008
1 x NAS
4 x vista computers
1 wireless laptop
1 x smartphone

Network 2

4 x laptops
3 x Xboxes
Basically I wish to keep my teenagers away and out of my network for obvious reasons !!

However I would like my Win SmBus Server to control my DCHP allocations
if possible.

Can this be done or do I utilise vlans, or can I put the 2nd DGFV338 to use somehow and split the IP addresses which will then feed threw the first DGFV and hence to the net ??
Presently I have all feeding threw the 1 DGFV ....with no problems except the server is offline because it kept dropping the xboxes routing or it was very slow. It fairly whizzes along even with all xboxes and laptops blazing away wirelessly.which as you can imagine is often !!.

Can you assist Chaps.......Ive been beavering away at all your advice...but it would be great to hear all yours

kind regards
Rob

Since you have a smartswitch, VLANs would be simplest way to go, especially since you want one DHCP server.

For a two-router setup, you can do this, but it's hassle for file/printer sharing.

Hi Tim , Thanks for responding.