What's new

Trouble Shooting Dlink Moca Speeds

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dbailey75

Occasional Visitor
Ok, I've had the MoCa's (Dlink DXN-221) up and running for about 4 months, and I've not been able to stream any bd files much higher than 15MB/s, so full bd's are a no go. I've finally gotten around to doing some trouble shooting, I've attached my Network diagram, I'm no artist, but you should get the idea. :D

Config one shows my setup and the PC and WHS speed files show's my speed results using Jperf from the HTPC connected to the Mocas. 23-28 Mbs, not what I was hoping, but explains my issue with BD files. So I replaced all the the spliters on the outside of the house with 2Gh's and I found one in wall filter in the house, replaced that one too, I have one 1gh out side that's grounded but is not in the moca loop, I'm going to replace it soon with a Point of Entry filter to help keep the moco signal in the house but this should not affect my speed. Ok, I was originally using the auto scan, and then tried other frequency's, my speed results where identical, no change at 1200, 1250, 1300, etc. I next checked for firmware updates, there was an update on Dlinks site, so I flashed each unit with moca version 1.1, no change, jperf results are the same.

So I did the 1m coax test shown in Config 2, I connented the Moca's together using a 1m long RG6 coax cable, I don't have the jperf results, but they were identical to what I posted for Config 1, reference the WHS and PC speed jpegs. So i'm scratching my head on this one, why am I only able to get 1/3 the speeds that I should be getting.