What's new

Two RT-AX1800S AiMesh question

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

PowerDr

New Around Here
I am new to AiMesh and really don't know what I am doing, but I am trying to learn. I have two RT-AX1800S's setup AiMesh with a wireless backhaul. I am connecting my PC to the node LAN port, and when I run a speed test it shows ~200 Mbps. My ISP is set at 400 Mbps and I get ~470 Mbps on my PC connected to the main router's LAN port, is there a reason why I can't get the full 400 Mbps on the node wired connection? I have the wireless backhaul setup on the 5GHz channel. I used the easy setup for the AiMesh so I don't know if there is anything I can tweak in the settings. TIA.

The client getting half speed is on the node's 5GHz radio? If so, that's what you'll get as the radio is doing double duty with the same traffic. You'll need a wired backhaul to get full speed that way.

I am new to AiMesh and really don't know what I am doing, but I am trying to learn. I have two RT-AX1800S's setup AiMesh with a wireless backhaul. I am connecting my PC to the node LAN port, and when I run a speed test it shows ~200 Mbps. My ISP is set at 400 Mbps and I get ~470 Mbps on my PC connected to the main router's LAN port, is there a reason why I can't get the full 400 Mbps on the node wired connection? I have the wireless backhaul setup on the 5GHz channel. I used the easy setup for the AiMesh so I don't know if there is anything I can tweak in the settings. TIA.
200Mbps is too low. Check the wireless link speed (PHY rate) between the router and the node. You want it to be 1201Mbps.