What's new

Uverse 2wire 3801 HGV router and Linksys E4200v2 Router!

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

abhi.ko

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

I'm new to this forum, but have been a regular reader of the reviews and threads on the site/forum. I am not a complete newbie to networking, but I'm no expert either. I have basic working knowledge! I recently switched my ISP from Comcast to AT&T U-Verse, and I'm pretty happy with the connection/speed etc so far, it has only been 2 days!

Started this thread because I want to make sure that what I'm going to do is pretty much the right thing to do! These are my hardware equipment:

1) ISP Router/Modem: 2Wire 3801HGV
2) Old Router: Netgear WNR834B - not planning to use this as a router anymore, maybe as a switch upstairs!
3) New Router: Cisco Linksys E4200v2 - planning to use this as my new new router, bought it mainly because of the great reviews everywhere and also because I wanted a USB port for my WD My Book Essential 3TB
4) Switch: TRENDnet TEG-S50G - used at my media console to plug in all my media equipment, input through a RJ-45 wall socket powered by the VSDN line and output to my AMD Llano HTPC, Roku, Yamaha Reciever and PS3. This is hooked up right now and is working fine, the 2Wire router/modem is hooked up at the other end of the wall!
5) Powerline AV Adapter:NETGEAR XAVB101 used in the media console upstairs, for my Google TV and X-Box Kinect (X-Box at the moment is using wireless, but I would like to make it wired using the old Netgear router as a switch if I can)!

That is about it (I believe), so essentially everything except for my wife's and my laptop is going to be wired, one way or the other! Those 2 would be the only wireless clients!