1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

VPN tap tunnel: client side only on a specific ethernet port

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by ronzino, Dec 2, 2018.

  1. ronzino

    ronzino New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Hi

    I have a Asus RT-AC68U with asus merlin firmware.

    I would like to know how to set up a vpn tunnel as follows:
    My asus shall act as a VPN TAP client, BUT only a specific lan port must be assigned to use the VPN tunnel (lets say port3).
    Doing so whatever devices are connect to this port3 (using a second switch) are managed by remote DHCP server (VPN server segment).

    Sp my question is....how can I tell to asus merlin "this VPN Tap tunnel must be binded to lan port 3, all the others ports (1-2-4) have not to be tunneled " ?

    many thanks
     
  2. ronzino

    ronzino New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    nobody know?

    I wonder if something like this would be possible..... create a vlanA for Port 3 and a vlanB for all the other port.
    then assign a tap vpn to vlanA

    but I am not skilled in e tables and rules to create in order to do this.
     
  3. Martineau

    Martineau Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943
    Location:
    UK
    Do you actually need to use a TAP VPN Client?
    If you can use a TUN VPN Client, then you could use something like:
    e.g. Map switch Port 3 to VPN Client 1 VLAN10
    Code:
    ./WiFiVPN wl0.1 1 autodnsmasq
    
    ./VLANSwitch.sh 10 3 vpn1 notag autodnsmasq


     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018 at 4:31 AM
  4. ronzino

    ronzino New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I need tap as I have to move the whole frames dhcp arp vol packets etc etc....basically all services that do not live at layer 3