What's new

Wireless Adapter vs. Powerline Adapter Transfer Speeds

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

GabeVR

New Around Here
Hi! First post here so I apologize if I come off as a complete noob!

So for Christmas I got a pair of power line adapters and I just got around to trying them out. I wanted to see the difference in speeds between my WLAN transfer speeds using the Edimax 150Mbps 802.11b/g/n Nano USB adapter, and using my NIC (100Mbps Fast Ethernet) on my desktop with the 200Mbps TrendNet TPL-307E2K powerline adapters.

I used Lan Speed Test to perform the tests. Both tranfers were made to a laptop connected directly to a gigabit port on a Linksys WRT54GS. The file size is 100MB. The test on the right is using the powerline adapters connected to the NIC on my desktop and the test on the left is using the USB wireless adapter.

As you can see from the image, the wireless adapter smoked the powerline in writing (23Mbps vs. 7Mbps) and was also better in reading (19Mbps vs. 14Mbps). I've heard both good and bad things about powerline adapters so I didn't really know what to expect but I did think that the powerline adapters would out perform the wireless adapter.

So, my question is, has anyone done similar tests and found that the wireless connection outperforms the powerline adapter? Maybe I do not have a proper test setup? Anyways, thanks for reading, and I look forward to hearing what you guys think!

Attachments

• WLAN vs Power Line 100MB Transfer.jpg
    WLAN vs Power Line 100MB Transfer.jpg
    61.4 KB · Views: 395
Improving Powerline Speed

You should to be able to do much better than that.

I use first genertration 85Mbps adapters. I normally get 25Mbps - 40Mbps.