What's new

Wireless Router for +15 concurrent connections.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

KasperZ

New Around Here
Hi im searching for a small wireless router that can hold approx. 15 concurrent connections + 1 wired one for a printer. I won't need any fancy features like QoS or firewall or anything like that, it just need to split 1 incoming connection to serveral. Since im quite new to the networking field and any information on how many connection a router maximum can take i hope that you have some experience with it and hopefully some advice. Any help is apreciated! Thank.

Ps. also im not a native english speaker so if im hard to understand then please say so and i will see if i can explain it in another way.

16 wireless connections is typically the maximum for consumer wireless routers, so you're on the edge. If the users are really going to be concurrent and present heavy traffic, I'd add an access point so that you can split the traffic between the two.

The AP should be set to a different channel (1, 6, 11) so that the router and AP don't compete for bandwidth.

So would any router do or should i look after something particular like dualband routers to split concurrent connections to 2 frequensies or something like that?

You can split clients between bands only if clients support both 2.4 and 5 GHz bands.
I need to know more about the traffic load before I can make an informed recommendation.

Excluding persistent downloading, say music/videos, the typical web browser experience has a surprisingly low data capacity demand, on average.