What's new

YazFi YazFi - Combining guest networks/subnets

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

adri

New Around Here
Hi, so this came up in my other thread, but I wanted to start a new one since it's a separate issue and I like separation of concerns :) . I want to make it so that, for one of my guest networks, the 2.4GHz segment (.14 subnet) can talk to the 5GHz segment (.15 subnet) and vice-versa, without enabling 2-way to guest and opening up the entire network to them. I was advised to look at the info on the YazFi GitHub page, and I found the instructions there on creating custom firewall rules, but I haven't found any documentation on working solutions to do this specifically. I'm new to iptables, so I appreciate any guidance that can be offered. The communication I am trying to make happen between devices does work when 2-way to guest is enabled, so I know the issue not the devices or their software. And I would hammer away at this until it worked, but I'm trying to keep my roommate from strangling me for taking the network down every 5 minutes.

I have, in /jffs/addons/YazFi.d/userscripts.d/spider_garden.sh :

Bash:
#!/bin/sh
iptables -I YazFiFORWARD -i wl0.3 -o wl1.3 -d 192.168.14.0/23 -j ACCEPT
iptables -I YazFiFORWARD -i wl0.3 -o wl1.3 -s 192.168.14.0/23 -j ACCEPT
iptables -I YazFiFORWARD -i wl1.3 -o wl0.3 -s 192.168.14.0/23 -j ACCEPT
iptables -I YazFiFORWARD -i wl1.3 -o wl0.3 -d 192.168.14.0/23 -j ACCEPT

From the instructions and the man page, it seems like this should work. I can see the rules are being picked up if I do iptables --list. But I'm not having any luck getting the devices to communicate. What am I doing wrong? Do I even need to specify the -s and -d arguments?