What's new

ASUS RT-AX86U Pro different VPN Internet connections

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sunly

New Around Here
Hello!
ASUS RT-AX86UPro with Merlin: the desktop PC with network id 192.168.8.172 should use Wireguard for the Internet connection,
the notebook with network id 192.168.8.29 should use OpenVPN for the Internet connection.
What do I need to set to make this work?

I'm no expert on this, but I am using Wireguard myself and I found it to be a fairly simple process to set up. You just need to switch it on and add a user. Then, you will be presented with two options; a QR code for mobile phones and an option to export the configuration file for computers. All you have to do then is download and install the Wireguard app on your devices and then either add a tunnel by scanning the QR code in the router's GUI or importing the configuration file if using a computer. OpenVPN is a bit more involved from what I remember, but if you click on the ? in the GUI, it will give you some links to help you set it up.

I'm no expert on this, but I am using Wireguard myself and I found it to be a fairly simple process to set up. You just need to switch it on and add a user. Then, you will be presented with two options; a QR code for mobile phones and an option to export the configuration file for computers. All you have to do then is download and install the Wireguard app on your devices and then either add a tunnel by scanning the QR code in the router's GUI or importing the configuration file if using a computer. OpenVPN is a bit more involved from what I remember, but if you click on the ? in the GUI, it will give you some links to help you set it up.
The OP means VPN client not VPN server.