DDNS and dyndns

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by jlamb1051, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. jlamb1051

    jlamb1051 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I have an rt-ac66r (retail version of U). I am using a free dyndns account as my ddns. After looking at the forums, it seems that this router does not automatically update the dyndns service on a regular interval (it only updates on reboot or wan ip change). As you may know, dyndns free accounts expire after 30 days of no account activity and if i have no reboot or ip change in 30days my account is terminated. First, am I wrong in my understanding of the router's updating ability? If it does not update regularly, are there any ways to initiate an update interval so I dont encounter any dyndns service interruptions?

    Another option is to use ASUS ddns service... How reliable is this service? Do they have any account termination issue like dyndns?

    Thank you in advance for any info you can provide...

    JL
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. Nerre

    Nerre Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    If I don't recall wrong there's a topic somewhere in the forums covering how to set up a cron job to do the update. But I might be mixing things up.
     
  4. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    That seems odd to me. By the very nature of Dynamic DNS, updates would need to happen periodically in the event that your DHCP-assigned WAN IP changed. If updates didn't happen and the IP changed, DDNS would be worthless.
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,045
    Location:
    Canada
    Asus implemented DDNS so it will only update the DDNS whenever the WAN interface changes state, or gets a new lease. The problem is they didn't take into account the fact that some DDNS services require at least one update per month to confirm that your account is still active, so if there is no change in your WAN state during that month, the DDNS won't contact the provider at all.
     
  6. scottegos2

    scottegos2 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    By coincidence, I got the same notice from dyndns.org today. I didn't see any clear way to force the update manually (or from crontab) -- the one related thread I found wasn't especially helpful. OK, I can run the dyndns updater on my htpc, but that seems like a copout. This feature should be possible on the router.
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,045
    Location:
    Canada
    Eventually I'll see if I can implement a cron job that will force an update after 25 days of uptime without reboot or WAN change.
     
  8. DeadHead

    DeadHead New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    My old D-Link DGL-4300 always updated this by itself, so would be nice to have the same functionality with this router as well. Seems pretty basic to me, so I hope they'll implement it soon.
     
  9. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    I wish I'd known that a month ago.

    My ASUS router continues to seem like amazing hardware hampered by a small handful of really dumb software decisions where the firmware is concerned.
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,045
    Location:
    Canada
    Nothing serious that cannot be worked around through a simple cron job tho (just need custom firmware to do that).
     

Share This Page