What's new

Help - UPS for Synology DS412+

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jbsmith

Occasional Visitor
Hi I'm really new to NASs and definitely UPSs. I've read and searched a lot but am having trouble understanding what type of UPS I need...I'm hoping someone here can give me some product recommendations based on what I'd like it to do.

I'm looking for a UPS that will simply allow the NAS to properly shut down in the event of a power failure. I already have an excellent surge protector that I could plug the UPS into if thats advisable.

I've looked around at different places and tried to determine what I need, but am confused if I need a $300 UPS or something that costs $80.

If possible if you can provide product recommendations that'd be great. I must say I am not looking to spend $300, but if that is what I minimally need then I will.

Thanks for the advice!

Get an APC brand.
There are no viable standards for the UPS interface and so Synology (et al?) support only the market leaders in UPSes.

I have a 1500W UPS that runs NAS, PCs, router, modem/phone combo, and some other things. It's in the garage but is just one wall away from office where most of this is. Some is in the garage too.

Surge protectors do nothing.

Thank you!

So do I just get any APC branded UPS? When I was on their website I wasn't sure what features I need to correctly shut down the NAS in the event of a power failure.

All I understand so far is that I probably need something 100W or greater...which is just about any of them...assuming I'm only plugging the NAS into it.