What's new

Help with ethernet and OnQ connections

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Eldon_Brasche

New Around Here
I'm new to the whole OnQ stuff and need help getting the ethernet to work. The pics show what the connections look like inside the panel as well as the wall switch. The port seems to be dead when plugging in the cable.
OnQ-1.jpg
Wall_Switch.jpg

Those plugs are for phones. They will not work for high speed LAN. You might be able to get 10 megabit to work with a different rear patch panel. You are going to need another patch panel for high speed LAN providing your cable is CAT5e or above. If you cable is CAT5 you will be limited to 100 megabit speed with new patch panel.

If the white panel is the other end of the CAT cable then it will need to be reterminated for high speed communication.

If the patch cable is CAT3 then you will be limited to 10 megabit. I cannot read what the cable says from the pictures.

Those plugs are for phones. They will not work for high speed LAN. You might be able to get 10 megabit to work with a different rear patch panel. You are going to need another patch panel for high speed LAN providing your cable is CAT5e or above. If you cable is CAT5 you will be limited to 100 megabit speed with new patch panel.

If the white panel is the other end of the CAT cable then it will need to be reterminated for high speed communication.

If the patch cable is CAT3 then you will be limited to 10 megabit. I cannot read what the cable says from the pictures.