What's new

Home network switches (16 port and 5-8 port)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Cloaky

Occasional Visitor
Hello everyone,

I am revamping my home network and I would like some advices. I am no expert at all.

This is my sketch:

From what I read online, the 16 port switch needs to be smart or managed as I will be doing a link aggregation.

Could you please give me advices on which ones I should buy? I will buy them from Amazon. This is what I am looking to finish it:
  • 16 Port Switch
  • 5-8 Port Switch.

I was considering these two
http://amzn.com/B00K4DS67C
http://amzn.com/B00K4DS5KU

Thanks everyone!

Last edited:
TP-Link`s are quite decent...

And first one would be a better choice according your diagram.
And you could do actually link aggregation to upstream to main AC68U as well with Merlin firmware and scripts.

Actually I would go a bit higher end ones (business class) as they have a proper CLI as well.
http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/biz-list-40.html

TP-Link`s are quite decent...

And first one would be a better choice according your diagram.
And you could do actually link aggregation to upstream to main AC68U as well with Merlin firmware and scripts.

Oh, I need both. Not just the first one hahahah

That would be awesome... is there any other brand that you would recommend?

Oh, I need both. Not just the first one hahahah

Well, still I would buy those first ones...second one is less smart.

That would be awesome... is there any other brand that you would recommend?

Well, if budget is not concern, then go with HP and lifetime warranty... :)

HP1910 is real decent switch for home use, which can be "hacked" to have full functionality of its bigger brothers... ;)