Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 client unable to connect, 5Ghz

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by bheiser1, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. bheiser1

    bheiser1 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    I am transitioning from an RT-N16 to an RT-AC66U. During the transition I have the AC66U set up for just 5Ghz, with the 2.4Ghz radio disabled.

    I've successfully connected several devices including a Mac running OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2. However when a 10.7.5 client tries to connect, it fails.

    The client syslog shows:
    12/1/12 3:17:49.000 PM kernel: en1: 802.11d country code set to 'US'.
    12/1/12 3:17:49.000 PM kernel: en1: Supported channels 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 36 40 44 48 52 56 60 64 100 104 108 112 116 120 124 128 132 136 140 149 153 157 161 165
    12/1/12 3:36:11.000 PM kernel: MacAuthEvent en1 Auth result for: <RT-AC66U MAC addr> Auth timed out
    12/1/12 3:36:14.000 PM kernel: MacAuthEvent en1 Auth result for: <RT-AC66U MAC addr> Auth timed out

    On the RT-AC66U, in System Log -> Wireless Log, under "Stations List", I see an entry showing the client's MAC address. Instead of showing the client's hostname, it shows MY hostname (of my computer - a different Mac) ... and there are a bunch of garbage characters under Rx/Tx speed, rssi, etc.

    I have tried this both with Wireless Mac Filter disabled & enabled.

    Again this is with 5Ghz only. I haven't tried 2.4Ghz yet (it's a bit inconvenient to try things with this, since I need to ask the owner of the other Mac to interrupt his work to try connecting, so I haven't tried as many things as I might have liked). i haven't tried 2.4Ghz yet as I'd prefer not to interrupt the RT-N16 if possible until the RT-AC66U is up & stable.
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,624
    Location:
    Canada
  4. bheiser1

    bheiser1 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    39

    That's gotten me past that issue, thanks. I just need to set up a startup (rc?) scripts since this setting seems to reset upon reboot. And I'll check the Asus forums too, from now on, before posting issues. :D

    Now I'm wrestling with 5Ghz signal strength, though I guess that's not an asuswrt-merlin issue :). The client device in question is about 38 feet down a straight hallway, and about 10 feet from there thru a doorway into a room (or some lesser distance via a straight line between the walls... not sure if this kind of signal is more likely to penetrate walls or reflect thru open doorways).

    I'm trying to avoid 2.4Ghz because inSSIDER shows (count 'em) 48 other 2.4Ghz access points within range, and no (zero) 5Ghz devices. Plus this particular client device is near a microwave oven, and it essentially kills 2.4Ghz connectivity when it's running.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,624
    Location:
    Canada
    Check the Wiki on my Github repo (link is in my signature) for more info on custom user scripts.

    Try using a fixed channel either in the low numbers or the high numbers on your 5 GHz radio, one of them might work better for you as they have different power output settings.
     
  6. bheiser1

    bheiser1 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks, I see the scripts page, I will give it a shot.

    I changed to channel 161 on 5ghz (was on 44) and that seems to have helped a bit. We still see some variation from test to test (directly to our cable provider) but still better than before.

    I notice the rcv/tx rates in Wireless Log vary from minute to minute but I saw that with tomato on the RT-n16 as well.
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,624
    Location:
    Canada
    That's power management in action. The wireless interface might drop in speed if it isn't actively trying to transfer a lot of data, it will go back up once there's more traffic.
     
  8. bheiser1

    bheiser1 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Ahh, cool! :cool:
     
  9. canuckle

    canuckle Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Canada
    RMerlin, is there a list somewhere of what channels are higher power, and lower power?
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,624
    Location:
    Canada
    I keep forgetting whether it's the higher channels or the lower channels that support higher power output, but it was posted a few times here on the forums.
     
  11. swamplynx

    swamplynx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    I'm having this issue on a 2013 iMac with Mac OS 10.9.1 and I am totally stumped... The issue only occurs on the 'high' 5Ghz channels (>149) when I am running wide-band 40Mhz. Lower 5Ghz wide-band works fine, as does upper 5Ghz if I limit the width to 20Mhz.... Of course as luck would have it, in my RF environment ch 153 is least crowded, so I'd really like to sort this out. All other devices connect fine.

    >nvram show | grep reg_mode
    wl0_reg_mode=h
    wl1_reg_mode=h
    wl_reg_mode=h

    >nvram show | grep country
    wl0_country_code=US
    wl0_country_rev=39
    wl_country_code=US
    wl1_country_rev=2
    wl_country_rev=2
    wl1_country_code=US
    modem_country=US

    Same error when attempting to join..
    MacAuthEvent en1 Auth result for: <Radio MAC> Auth timed out
     
  12. swamplynx

    swamplynx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Factory reset did the trick...
     

Share This Page