What's new

MoCa: Complete newbie setup help

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JMHamilton88

New Around Here
Hello,

Completely new to Moca (and networking in general). Purchased a Screenbeam 2 adapter kit. Xfinity Internet with Modem/router combo. I did enable Moca capability on the router.

I have coax cables running through the house and have identified the main in line and the line to the room I want the Moca connection to. Currently I have main coax in to a Moca 2.5 splitter. One splitter out directly two the modem/router coax connection. The other splitter out directly connected to the coax line that runs to the room. At the room, I have the coax out connected to a screenbeam Moca adapter, ethernet from adapter to my Xbox one. I'm getting internet through it, and the Xbox can connect over the Moca network, however, my NAT type is always strict not allowing to connect to online games. I have tried a bunch of stuff to fix the nat type via the router and xbox itself when on Moca connection to no avail (opening ports, assigning the xbox reserved IP, etc.). I don't have the NAT problem over wifi but signal strength an speed sucks over wifi which is why I'm interested in MoCa setup. Wondering if it's in how my Moca network is set up.. Does it sound like this current setup should work?