What's new

N66U slow online video streaming

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JonDenver

New Around Here
I’m having surprising results when streaming online video services using my N66U router. I’m somewhat comfortable with computers, but I’m not a networking expert. All values reported below are Mbps, not MB/s.

I have a CenturyLink 40/20 connection. The C2000A modem is in transparent bridge mode and the N66U does all of the routing. I have the 5Ghz channel disabled. I can verify my 40/20 connection using a wired computer on speedtest.net, uploading/downloading via Dropbox, and uploading/downloading via Google Drive. No problems there, everything looks good +/-10%.

First question:
When streaming video to a wired computer from Netflix, the bitrate is ~9.5Mbps. When streaming HD from YouTube the bitrate is ~12Mbps. These values are pulled from the router’s traffic monitor. I believe Netflix has a 25Mbps steaming tier, why is my steaming only ~9.5Mbps? Is this Netflix throttling, CenturyLink throttling, backbone congestion? Is there anything I can do to improve this and make better use of the 40/20 connection?

Second question:
When streaming video to a wireless device from Netflix or YouTube the bitrate is ~2.5Mbps. This was tested with nearly identical results using a Chromecast, phone, and laptop. I can transfer large files from my phone (wireless) to a computer (wired) directly at ~88Mbps, so the wifi does not seem to be the bottleneck. Running speedtest.net from any of these wireles devices shows roughly 22/20. If the wifi can transfer at 88Mbps, why does speedtest.net show a reduced internet speed, and why is the streaming video bitrate reduced to ~2.5Mbps over wireless?