What's new

Pulse Secure Desktop Client Failing

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

tagfoto

New Around Here
Hey all - my company uses Pulse Secure and Duo for VPN authentication. I am obliged to use a Windows 10 laptop (company provided) to access the VPN as Unix is not supported and so I am out of my element. Making things even more complicated - I do not have admin rights on the company box. Until recently the VPN worked well. On boot I would login to Windows and immediately be prompted by Pulse Secure to enter my Duo passcode. At that point the desktop would load and I could access my databases via putty (I'm a DBA). As of 20 January this login behaviour changed. Once I enter my Windows login credentials I am immediately taken to the desktop. A couple of minutes later I get a Pulse error message:

Pulse Secure Desktop Client. Your connection has failed. Reason: logins temporarily disabled from this computer. (1330).

Running the Pulse client manually produces the same error.

Nothing config related was modified on my box and the Network Admin tells me nothing was changed on his side either. I use T-Mobile 5G and it works surprisingly well. My logs on my NetBSD box show that my IP was changed on 19 January which may or may not be related. My Gateway device (Sagemcom Fast 5688W) uses DHCP and the IP has changed before without impacting anything.

The laptop behaves normally in all other respects - accessing the web via browsers and accessing the other boxes on my LAN (Ubuntu, Slackware and NetBSD).

Bottom line: I don't know if this is a Windows issue, a Pulse issue or a T-Mobile issue. Likewise I don't know if the issue is on my side or at the company data center so I don't know where to start the bug hunt.