What's new

QoS on ASUS AC66U with AppleTV

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jasong

New Around Here
Hey all,
I've never used Quality of Service before and I'm having a little trouble wrapping my brain around it and would very much appreciate some help with the matter.
I have an ASUS AC66U router:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...E16833320115&gclid=CKOb0NTq8rgCFQ6f4Aod1w8AKw
An AppleTV 3 and a Macbook Pro w/ Retina. I am streaming video through Airplay.

My issue is because the Macbook Pro I have isn't 802.11a compatible, the video skips and jumps - not often, but enough to be frustrating. I did a little googling and apparently QoS can help the issue. However, all the tutorials I have found have to do with streaming video from the Internet, not from another device on the LAN.

I have six fields:

Service Name | Source IP or MAC | Destination Port | Protocol | Transferred | Priority

Which MAC am I supposed to be using - the laptop doing the streaming or the AppleTV? Or do I need to be making two rules, one for the laptop and one for the AppleTV?

Any help would be very much appreciated =)
-Jason

QOS is really only useful for LAN to WAN traffic. If either one of your devices are on wireless, I would recommend you take a look at channel congestion in your area first. Use something like InSSIDer for Windows, but a Mac equivalent to see how many access points/wireless routers are in your area. If it's a sea of them, look to either going wired, or if that's not an option, go to the 5 GHz spectrum.

Clint,

I am living in an apartment complex that has a fairly decent chunk of networks, but I am already using the 5.0Ghz bandwidth because of that. What you've said makes sense, but it's at odds with what I've read online: