What's new

RT-AC68P Settings

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

EvaninAZ

New Around Here
Hello all,

Admitted noob here. I am trying to figure out how to set up my router to ensure runs best as possible. I am hardwired into my fiber connection on the 5Ghz band in my office and getting 400Mbps up/down (the router is 3 feet away). While good, it's still not what I was promised by Cox (any ideas?).

The bigger problem is what is happening over WiFi throughout the rest of the house. Other devices (Playstation, son's laptop, wife's laptop) can only 'find' the 2.4Ghz band on WiFi. The connection speeds for those devices are running about 10Mbps to 15Mbps - AWFUL!. I must be doing something wrong b/c there is no way the signal should degrade that much for devices 20 or so feet away (in a drywall & wood built house).

What am I missing? We are all using versions of Windows 8.1, I updated firmware yesterday, I ran malware checks, etc.

My settings on the 2.4Ghz band are below (note - I changed bandwidth and Channel yesterday b/c I read something that indicated that may help. It didn't). Obviously there are tons of settings on this thing and I haven't the slightest idea how to use them (there are no instructions or help anywhere I can find!). I must be doing something idiotic.:

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
First you need to check if your client devices are dual band.
Single band devices will only see the 2.4Ghz band, dual band will see 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz bands.

There are many factors that can affect wireless throughput. Could be a crowded channel, or some kind of interference. Try to use only channels 1, 6 or 11. Test each one.

Also, I think you should upload a picture without your password showing!