What's new

Strange LAN Drop-Out Behavior

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

prazvt

New Around Here
Hi All - I'm new to SmallNetBuilder, but I've found solutions to problems posted here before. I've been having a weird issue on my home wired & wireless LAN and I can't quite pinpoint the possible cause. Please bare with me while I explain the setup first.

Our house is wired for ethernet, but because we use Dish for TV, the only cable line coming in for the cable modem is through the garage. So our main modem and router sit downstairs in the dining room (Motorola modem + Asus RT-AC66U). We have a control panel in the master bedroom closet that houses all the ethernet cables for each room. So I have a pair of Netgear XAV5101 power line adapters connecting the router downstairs to the control panel.

The output of the control panel is to a Netgear GS105E 5port gigabit switch, and 4 rooms are connected to the switch (3 bedrooms + living room downstairs).

Because of the weak wireless signal upstairs, I have an Asus RT-AC68R running in AP mode in my room. Connected to it is a Synology DS413 NAS, a PS3, a Dish DVR, and a Squeezebox Touch. Other devices connect wirelessly.

The computer room has one gaming PC connected to the wall directly, and the living room and master bedroom both have switches w/ a mix of devices connected wired.

Finally...the ISSUE: