What's new

VPN Failover script

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Butterfly Bones

Very Senior Member
There was a thread here by another poster. There were some disagreements and that thread was deleted. I found the script by @Martineau on Pastebin, but I have this total inability to grasp scripting so can we bring it back? I'm technically proficient in most things networking, though I am an amateur working on my own network only.

Here is the GitHub link. https://github.com/MartineauUK/VPN-Failover

Can we restart the discussion on this? I have the script copied into my /jffs/scripts directory and chmod to 755, but not clear how to call the script from the openvpn-event script that contains only this.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cp /jffs/configs/resolv.dnsmasq /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
I only run one instance of a VPN client and it is very stable, but every so often it will drop connection and then block all clients (as intentionally) configured. I'd like to automatically restart the VPN client, which is what this script appears to accomplish.

My mental block against scripting keeps me from understanding how to set up the originate and terminate scripts. :oops:
Thank you

edit - I've added this line to my openvpn-event
Code:
'sh /jffs/scripts/VPN_Failover 1 ignore=2,3,4,5 interval=60 timeout=45 silent &'
Is this enough with only one VPN client or do I need something else?

Last edited:
@Martineau
Getting this error.
Code:
@RT-AC86U-1234:/tmp/home/root# sh /jffs/scripts/VPN_Failover.sh: line 643: syntax error: unexpected word (expecting ")")