What's new

advice about pfsense/opnsense hardware: H87N-wifi

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

awediohead

Occasional Visitor
I'm a noob to DIY networking and routers - beyond having installed Asuswrt-merlin in my RT-AC86U a few years ago, I haven't really been able to mess about and experiment with it because my S.O. is very reliant on a reliable internet connection for communication and study as she's housebound with a disability.

So my idea was to use an old ITX haswell era board to install pfSense or OPNsense on, just to learn and become a bit more familiar initially. Hopefully the eventual end result will be better internet and home network connection reliability, rather than less, but that might take a while! I love learning but my old brain doesn't work as well as it used to these days!

The board is an H87N-Wifi from Gigabyte with a 4670T (45W) cpu installed. It has two ethernet ports, one Intel and one Atheros GbE LAN chip, but I also have an Intel PCIe card with four gigabit ports on it.

I bought the PCIe card off eBay a couple of years ago having watched a few SpaceInvaderOne videos about pfSense on YT. Ed does excellent unRAID server tutorials. Just a few weeks after I got the card we had to move house so everything's been on hold since.

The new house is a disability adapted bungalow which has one coax and one telephone line socket in four of the rooms all of which are unused. I'm eventually planning on replacing these with two ethernet sockets so each of the four rooms has wired internet/home network connectivity with a second wired network exclusively for Audio over IP. My wife's an exceptionally talented musician and I'm trying to set things up to make doing recordings as quick and simple as possible.