1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT AX92u /ISP connection issues

Discussion in 'ASUS AX Routers & Adapters' started by DonnyO, Jan 24, 2020.

  1. DonnyO

    DonnyO New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Have had my ISP out 3 times, to analyse my connection with their router in front at first because I had connection issues.
    After 3 visit we I asked to have my own router in front and bridged their router.
    The ISP says the cable connection measures to be perfect, no problems can be found on the cable.
    Was hovering around him while he working and they he do a good job on the analysis work.


    Seem I still have issues. Keep getting these in the log sometimes many hours between, sometimes minutes.
    Sometimes it seems to happen just when I come home and the smarthome things kicks in... Other times when we lie flat on the couch not doing sh*t.

    -------------------
    ..
    WAN Connection: Ethernet link down.
    ..
    WAN Connection: Ethernet link up.
    ..
    WAN Connection: ISP's DHCP did not function properly
    ..
    WAN Connection: WAN was restored...

    And then the "Network Map" under generel says:
    Internet status:
    Connected
    WAN IP: xx.xx.xx.xx...
    And the Internet works again...
    ---------------------

    While having the issue I tried power cycling their bridged router without success, rebooted the rt-ax92U, still no direct success, but after a while (impatience... ya know) Internet returns and the above is in the log again..


    I still think its @ the ISP the problem origins from.
    Any suggestions to fix or assembly data to get it fixed?

    Kinda regret I purchased the 92U, now that I found out about the Asuswrt-Merlin...
    Hoping that some fine day there will be a v compatible version of A-M for the RT AX92U



    Ps. had some WIFI issues with the 92U when using 2 or 3-band..
    Had to set "Enable Smart Connect" to off, to get a stable wifi.

    Best regards from Denmark.
    My ISP =YouSee.
     
  2. nameduser

    nameduser New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Kekkoslovakia
    I had the exact same problems with my RT-AX92Us. (Nov 2019 Firmware)
    It disappeared from the system log with the January firmware but the problems persisted.
    I also had Smart Connect off because of problems.
    I returned them today to the re-seller.
     
  3. burhan mirza

    burhan mirza New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    I've had the same issues too. It's an absolute joke. Anyone had a success with this router?
     
  4. taz291819

    taz291819 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Working fine for me, though I only use one of them.
     
  5. Gouldin

    Gouldin Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    tried changing the ethernet cable that is going into the wan port?
    It's showing an actual physical disconnect, the cables knacked or the isp modem is likely rebooting itself.
    Got any spare modems lying around the house to test with?
     
  6. DonnyO

    DonnyO New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Well now after disabling the 2 or 3-band on the 92u wifi is just fine, maybe I'll settle with that.

    Found the 92u very stable now, the bridging of the ISP router certainly helped.

    The only thing I have had to reboot from missing Internet connection is the bridged Yousee Sagemcom Fast 3890 Router.
    And its not anything often, so I guess I will give the Fast 3890 a timer to cut the power weekly or so.

    So two issues, 2-3band not stable and now found that Port Forwarding does not work at all... Well the everyday life small hurdles....
     
  7. nameduser

    nameduser New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Kekkoslovakia
    Yeah that is how I used "them" until latest January firmware came after which I took the AIMesh node in use.

    Nice to read that it works for you now DonnyO!
    I got a refund and I ordered the ZenWiFi AC (CT8) (2pcs). I may be stupid (new product) but a) I want ASUS b) I want Mesh. So let's see how it goes with those. Well well...
     
  8. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,085
    Location:
    Відправився на риболовлю
  9. nameduser

    nameduser New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Kekkoslovakia
  10. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,085
    Location:
    Відправився на риболовлю
    Yes, every word . The reported problem " ISP's DHCP did not function properly" is nothing new and happens with other makes , you simply need to reboot the modem.

    There is a new firmware for the AX92U which may address other issues. Personally I have installed a pair of these one as router , second as AP and have seen no problem of any kind.
     
  11. nameduser

    nameduser New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Kekkoslovakia
    I was wrong, (not to hijack this thread) I have had the messages that are listed in the first post. But I mixed them up with the ones listed below AND I did lose WAN every time then (November 2019 firmware).
    I was just waiting for a new firmware to see whether I would get them going then. It didn't happen so I wrote a detailed report and the re-seller refunded me promptly. I had them 2 1/2 months. I've never have had this much problems with any networking tool as I had with these.
    Maybe they were defect, I don't know (and now I don't care). I've seen so similar reports from others especially on Amazon that it was an easy decision and I would have fought to have them refunded.

    Code:
    Jan 14 15:13:45 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Jan 14 15:13:45 ntp: start NTP update
    Jan 14 15:14:04 nat: apply redirect rules
    Jan 14 15:14:04 WAN Connection: WAN was exceptionally disconnected.
    Jan 14 15:14:07 WAN Connection: WAN was restored.
    Jan 14 15:14:07 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Jan 14 15:14:07 ntp: start NTP update
    Jan 14 15:14:28 nat: apply redirect rules
    Jan 14 15:14:28 WAN Connection: WAN was exceptionally disconnected.
    Jan 14 15:14:31 WAN Connection: WAN was restored.
    Jan 14 15:14:31 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Jan 14 15:14:31 ntp: start NTP update
    Jan 14 15:14:52 nat: apply redirect rules
    Jan 14 15:14:58 WAN Connection: WAN was exceptionally disconnected.
    Jan 14 15:14:58 WAN Connection: WAN was restored.
    Jan 14 15:14:58 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Jan 14 15:14:58 ntp: start NTP update
     
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,159
    Location:
    Canada
    Cleaned up the thread, please refrain from making personal attacks.