What's new

AX200 compatibility with legacy MB

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Modd

New Around Here
Hi there. Newbie here and look for any suggestions. Thanks in advance.

Try to update home router from Netgear R7000 to Asus AX86u. Also try to change some intel 9000 series wireless adapter to AX200/210. The problem is my z97+4790 rig now outdated a lot, and the intel representative told me the AX200 adapter unable to run on that platform.

The thing is I can’t find in the market any meaningful PCIe Wifi adapters using solutions predated AX200, and I indeed found an intel doc saying there shouldn’t be a problem when you run AX200 with a legacy CPU.

So, should I take the risk to update the PCIe WIFI adapter?

Welcome to the forums @Modd.

I almost never recommend 'upgrading' a PCIe WiFi adaptor. Those things are going the way of the dinosaur for many years now and have never given a 'guaranteed' improvement in many cases.

What I do recommend is using a spare (or inexpensive) router as a Media Bridge instead. You may even find one for less than the WiFi adaptor you're considering.

The benefits of a Media Bridge are that the routers full power is used to connect back to your main router (with 3x3:3 or 4x4:4 antenna: streams), much more than any WiFi adaptor will currently allow. And it does so at full radio power (for your jurisdiction). You then plug in your desktop via Ethernet and experience the fastest connection possible. Without any dismantling of the PC, nor any fiddling with the drivers, etc.

Simply place the Media Bridge router where it has the strongest signal from the main router. Now, connect the PC (and any other wired capable devices) to the Media Bridge router.