1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Before I throw out my Asus AC88u router$%#$&% Merlin?

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by Ryanhdd, Sep 16, 2018.

  1. Ryanhdd

    Ryanhdd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    I’ve just connected it and it just worked. I didn’t do anything special.
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. indark

    indark Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    totally different than how it works for my FIOS ;x
    assuming you dont have fios router
    you can consider ask the tech to leave you a router to troubleshot, if the tech can't figure out what happen tomorrow.
    probably gonna cost you 10 bux a month, but at least it can work as a proof that something is wrong on their end.
     
  4. Ryanhdd

    Ryanhdd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    24

    I actually went this route last year. Got their router and I believe I had the same issues. I can't remember at this time. But I sent it back.
     
  5. Gregory Phillips

    Gregory Phillips Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Wherever I want to be
    Have you tried using different cables between your pc and the router and from the fios unit to the router?
     
  6. Ryanhdd

    Ryanhdd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    24

    yes. i bought all new cat6 cables swapped them out a with different ones. several times.
     
  7. Ryanhdd

    Ryanhdd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    update after the coolest and most nicest Verizon Tech came out:

    He saw what I have been seeing. Decided to run the Fiber directly into my office. Which was really easy, so we did that. He put the new ONT inside my office and bam. speeds are good. Checked and double checked. Good for now. Offered to leave me a Verizon router for testing. I felt like I didn't need it. even though he said it was free, he has many of them. Gave me is personal cell said call if it acts up. Now what he did see when he went to the ONT on the outside, the power that supplied the ONT was something known to go bad. So that could have been it. who knows. But running the fiber right to my room helps when I call if it happens again. I can say theres fiber right here.anyway I will let you know how it goes. Thanks for all the help.

    hours later. I cannot believe how fast my computer is. its working flawlessly

    I've been missing this kind of speed for a long time!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2018
  8. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Glad it worked out and you didn't have to chuck your asus router :)
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!