What's new

Best Practice When Importing CSV To YazDHCP?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

vandriver

Occasional Visitor
Sorry for the daft question and if this is well documented, I can seem to find the answer?

I'm reseting my ac86u with merlin back to defaults and one by one adding the settings and custom scripts instead of using backup files.

When it comes to static ip's I am going to use a previously exported CSV file from YazDHCP.
I've never done this before, I always used to GUI lol.

Do I need to power down my entire network and then import the CSV to the main router?

Currently what I'm finding is all the devices are getting ip's before I even get to installing YazDHCP. Will that not just creat loads of incorrectly assigned ip's to most of my devices untill I reboot them anyway?

The csv can be imported at any time. Hit "Apply" then reboot the router afterwards. Don't worry about conflicts, they are usually negated and everything should (in my experience does) fall in line after the reboot.

The csv can be imported at any time. Reboot the router afterwards. Don't worry about conflicts, they are usually negated and everything should (in my experience does) fall in line after the reboot.
Don't forget to hit the "Apply" button after importing.
Great. Thanks a lot!

@vandriver - what I do when doing a reset/reconfigure is start with a different SSID. Do all my changes including importing the csv file then reboot once then set the SSID correctly.
Keeps all your clients at bay as you setup

I'm reseting my ac86u with merlin back to defaults and one by one adding the settings and custom scripts instead of using backup files.

When it comes to static ip's I am going to use a previously exported CSV file from YazDHCP.