1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Can not ssh to ASUS RT-AC68U anymore...

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by chinese_ys, Dec 12, 2018.

  1. chinese_ys

    chinese_ys Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    I ran into this issue early today and figure to upgrade the firmware to 384.8_2 since it is available (hoping that fixes the issue)...But I still can not ssh to the router. Here below is screenshot of the SSH related setting. I did reboot via UI multiple times... Any advise?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. octopus

    octopus Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    Turn off brute protection and try again.
     
  3. chinese_ys

    chinese_ys Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Apologize that I should mention I did try to disable SSH and reenable it; disable the brute force protection and reenable it...Made not difference for me...
     
  4. octopus

    octopus Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    And you login with routers password and username?
     
  5. chinese_ys

    chinese_ys Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    I donot even get a login prompt
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,252
    Location:
    UK
    What do you see in the router's System Log > General Log?

    Are you using PuTTY? What error does it give you?
     
  7. chinese_ys

    chinese_ys Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    No logs related to SSH...but I think I found the issue...it’s the win10 I was using...just tried on Mac and works...
     
    HuskyHerder likes this.
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,844
    Location:
    Canada
    Get Xshell 6.