What's new

Can someone give me dummy guide on access LAN ip with OpenVPN?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

nomnomnom

Occasional Visitor
Screen Shot 2019-02-18 at 2.51.45 PM.png
I know there are a lot of threads here on this forum, but I just can't figure it out. I'm not a networking expert so I might need simple step by step guide. Here are my current settings

My router ip is 192.168.0.1

I can connect to openvpn from my iphone but I can't access any of the local ips (such as 192.168.0.200 etc)

How are you trying to access the local devices? Many devices (like Windows PC's) will by default block access from devices on non-local networks, such as your VPN client.

How are you trying to access the local devices? Many devices (like Windows PC's) will by default block access from devices on non-local networks, such as your VPN client.

Just from my browser, I have simple web servers running on say 192.168.0.200. So I just tried to opend 192.168.0.200 from an iOS browser.

Also, ping will not work, I cannot ping 192.168.0.200

But I can ping 192.168.0.1 (which is the gateway and vpn server)

Have you got any other devices on your LAN that you can try to access, like a network printer with a web interface?

Have you got any other devices on your LAN that you can try to access, like a network printer with a web interface?

Hmm interesting I was able to ping other devices in the lan, like .66 or .80 but nothing works outside of ping

I have a garage opener with web server, I cant access that server either

I have a macbook with ssh open at .217. I can ping .217 but I cannot connect via ssh

Is there just a simple way for me to behave like a lan citizen with openvpn? Should I just change my vpn ip setting?