What's new

Configure OVPN for both All traffic and LAN only?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Tedd

Occasional Visitor
I'm trying to get my OpenVPN server to accept VPN connections where the client gets to decide whether to route all traffic through the VPN or just traffic for the LAN.

I've had the server running well using just LAN traffic, but I'm not experienced enough to configure it correctly for what I want. Everything I try just causes connection failures ;)

Surely that's a client-side issue and not the server. How do you envisage the client "deciding" how to route?

I guess I'm confused. The VPN server configuration for OpenVPN lets me specify whether clients connect to the LAN only, Internet only, or both. Is that just adding configuration options to the client config template?

I see that changing my server configuration from LAN only to Both adds these two lines to my server config:
Code:
push "route-gateway <my router's LAN IP>"
push "redirect-gateway def1"

Now connecting to my server using an unchanged client config causes constant I/O errors:
Code:
2019-03-04 14:36:01 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:01 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:02 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:02 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:03 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:03 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:04 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:05 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
2019-03-04 14:36:05 write to TUN/TAP : Input/output error (code=5)
<snip>

If I add:
Code:
pull-filter ignore "route-gateway "