What's new

DD-WRT for Asus rt-ac5300

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ng4ever

Regular Contributor
Explain it like I am a baby please or noob lol.

How do you install DD-WRT onto the Asus rt-ac5300 please ? And where do I get the firmware?

Thanks.

Hmmm... "be sure you understand what you are doing".

You can find the DD-WRT firmware here: the first time you will be using the .trx file - in your case it will be the file Asus-RT-AC5300-firmware.trx - and to update to a new version you will use the .bin file instead, that is dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_AC5300.bin

Again, things could go easily wrong and
you could brick your router, so you better have a techie friend who can assist you !

Last edited:
Now I see why you said in pm about .trx and .bin files. One step at a time. Just try what I told you to try. Once and if it happens, you get on dd-wrt, you can then think about upgrading.

Was wondering if you still consider this 2017 firmware version (Kong’s) the best one to use so far to install DDWRT in this router. I have seen other “beta” versions out there in the dd-wrt.com website and wasn’t sure if they work well.

Also, do any of you have a good step-by-step guide on how to install ddwrt firmware in this router? Appreciate your assistance with this. Thank you.

Yes, on my Netgear it's the one I am using and I will update only when the next stable revision will be released by Kong - but if you feel a 'beta tester' you can find the latest beta in the folder 'TEST'.
I don't have experience with Asus routers, but it shouldn't be too different from installing it on a Netgear router, have a read here.

Last edited:
Hi everyone,