What's new

Dual-Band Router with Tri-Band Nodes

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Is the xds6 dual band then?

I received my xt9’s today - enabled smart connect on my ax82u and then took the second node (the one without the start with me sticker) and associated it to the existing network. It looks like it is using the 5ghz backhaul, but I’m new to the wireless backhaul stuff so maybe I’m missing something. I’ll attach screens if what I see

The limitation here should be that the ax82u can only serve at 2.4ghz, which is fine with me as everything intensive can be wired.

I’ll edit this in a moment with the screenshots.
Yes, is dual band, you can easily review which band are using in the Asus app.

Yes, is dual band, you can easily review which band are using in the Asus app.
I’ve added the screens to my post but in a nutshell 2.4, 5-1, and 5-2 are all being used right now on the node and 5/2.4 are both being used at the router side.

To me it looks like this is working with dedicated backhaul, but I just hope to confirm!

Thanks for taking the time, I appreciate it.

Edit, that said - my phone is connecting to 5ghz on the router (ax82u)

Maybe it’s using a 2x2 and leaving a 2x2

This says a dedicated wireless backhaul will be established between a dual-band & tri-band node or router, that's nice
Sorry to resurrect this but I fail to understand how, as according to ASUS, a dual band router with tri band node can use a dedicated wireless backhaul.