What's new

help with decison on synology NAS

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dess1313

New Around Here
looking for advice. i'm new to NAS and RAID systems

I have had multiple computer problems in the past and have worked with mostly western digital portable external drives to back up my files. i've had hard all sorts of problems with HDs, ram, motherboards, etc over the last 10 years and 3 different computer brands. i'm just an attactant for lemons and breakdowns

what i want to do is have a larger storage than my WD externals. one gets near full, then there isnt enough room to store this, or that, and each successive computer has a larger and larger hard drive so i need more and more room each time. i'm currently bouncing between about 3 of them as i am again experiencing problems and trying to back tings up before doing a system restore.
---------
What i need is:
1. just more brute storage that isnt limited having a single drive for excess movies, photos, and other media and files
2. a active backup, even if its just once a day or twice a week of my laptop, and also another desktop computer that is attached to my network
3. space to temporarily store other computer files as i help repair other peoples as well. USB connection sounds to be the best method for this
4. share files from my laptop to my desktop which is hooked up to my tv, so i can watch movies from it

I have seen about not using the RAID as a total backup because failures do happen. If i were to use a synology model with the synology hybrid drive, i would have either 2(Ds213) or 4 (Ds413) drives respectively with copies of my laptop information i beleive from what i have read about it. but i'm not sure if that is correct.