What's new
  • SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Oyster1286

New Around Here
Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to home networking. A while ago I setup an OpenWRT WiFi Router and that was quite complicated but I got it working. I'm now trying to better understand networking as a whole and design my own home network. I have been planning to build a NAS for file sharing, etc. and install surviellance cameras while using the software Frigate and since I just got Fiber I figured now would be a good time to recreate my network and do it properly. I uploaded an image down below in the spoiler with a few ideas of how I could create my network and would love to hear your expert thoughts on them. Are they decent ideas or completely missing the point? Do you have a better idea? I think #4 is my favorite as it uses a 4 port Vault which is cheaper than a 6 port and it eliminates a switch which also keeps the price lower. My only holdup is that I don't know if I can connect the switch with PoE cameras to the second ethernet port on my future NAS and expect it to work.

PS. All appliances in the image are wired together.

Extra information on devices I might use:
  • Protectli Vault w/ coreboot and PFSense for firewall and routing with a mostly system wide VPN
  • x1 WiFi router in AP mode not on VPN (or maybe dedicated IP VPN in future) for Streaming TV using Gl iNET Beryl AX
  • x1 WiFi router in AP mode on VPN for all other devices using GL iNET Flint 2
  • NAS will be an Odroid H3+ (has two 2.5GbE ports) running OpenMediaVault with two Docker containers. One with NextCloud and the other running Frigate, the surveillance camera software.
  • Printer
  • Up to x10 PoE surveillance cameras
  • A managed PoE switch for all of the cameras