What's new

Hi all! & A few initial troubles

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

as_poco

New Around Here
Router AX86S connected to ISP Modem @Win10 // Asuswrt-Merlin 386.7.2

Hi all, i'm almost a total noob regarding routers, this is my 1st non ISP router, recently bought with an Asus Promo. Discovered Asuswrt-Merlin and a very healthy community around it so thanks all who have been developing the sw and helping the community.

Already flashed latest firmware and followed M&M config; everything seems to be working okay except for a few glitches, that may or may not belong here, please be patient and point the right direction if i'm posting at the wrong place. A few searches didn't bring much enlightenment (up until now) so i decided to ask a few q's here.

- I have Safing Portmaster Firewall and as soon as I enable that firewall service I can't connect to the router page. Even if I disable the service somehow it seems to corrupt something and I already ended reseting the router 3 times. As of now Portamaster is disabled and I have access to the router page. If I enable portmaster all is lost and I end up resetting the router and starting from scratch (reboot does not seem to work). With the previous ISP modem no such thing occurred, the modem page was always reachable with that specific firewall.

- With a VPN service I'm not able to reach the Asus Router Page. If I disconnect the VPN i reach it again without further nuisances. All this seems to point to some DNS corruption but I'm not sure why can't the router page be reached (configured to be reached through https)