What's new

Home network security with limited budget and using existing hardware only

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

trinketsecurity

New Around Here
I'm new to SNBforums, and I am a university student that have studied some networking and network security courses. I know some things about system hardening, VLANs, subnetting, security configurations to benchmarks/best practices and some more.

Due to some unforeseen circumstances, I feel like my threat environment has expanded to targeted attacks by hackers in my community. This is likely due to my interactions in real life with actual hackers in my city. After receiving some creepy phone calls and getting hit by a zero-day on my apple products, I have since been trying to rebuild my home network with security in mind.

What I have done so far:
- bought an Asus RT-AC68U router
- installed Asuswrt-Merlin
- installed Skynet + diversion
- changed router's username and set an extremely long and complicated admin password
- WiFi password is also set the same way
- placed IOT devices on to guest network (need guidance here: one way comms has blocked some functionality)

What I want to do:
- Raspberry Pi 4 with Pi-Hole and an OpenVPN set up as securely as possible
- Some sort of alert notification sent to me over to my phone if anything happens to my network (sort of like pfsense + snort + zabbix)
- been very busy so haven't researched yet but: zabbix, grafana or prometheus?
- System hardened MacBook air for logging into bank accounts ONLY (if possible) (maybe BootCamp to windows for this)
- IDS?
- I'm very open to suggestions! I love to learn, I spent over 15 hours straight playing with the router since I got it, and fell asleep at 7am on a Sunday morning.

Budget: