What's new

How do you spec and design a job?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Zachary Hamilton

New Around Here
Newbie to the site here. I am a 24 year IT veteran who has done a smidgen of programming, but who has primarily worked in helpdesk and PC support, and then later in network and systems administration. I have worked my entire career in corporate IT servicing internal customers, so I've never done consulting. All of the networks that I've worked with have been in place when I arrived and/or specified and designed by someone else.

As I get older and the specter of age discrimination gets closer, I wonder if some day I might have to hang out my own sign post and consult. For those of you who have done this, it might not be a big deal, but I'm a bit apprehensive. I know a lot but I don't know everything, and consulting would be new to me. When I start thinking about it, the biggest question that comes to mind is, how do you know what products to specify based on business needs?

For example, there are a ton of switches out there. How would you know which one to use for a particular job? I don't mean class of switch. I think I could determine whether or not to use fully managed versus web smart, but how do you pick? Cisco or HP for the big boys? Netgear or TP-Link for SOHO or SMB? Maybe I'm overthinking it, but I want to know which one is the "best". Or is it just a matter of personal preference?

Another example would be cloud service providers. Which one? There are so many, and I don't have any experience with them. Any place I've ever worked has had it's own server farm (and in the last 10 years, virtual machines).

Do I even recommend going to the cloud? Maybe they should keep their infrastructure on-premise.