1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

How to disable "Smart Connect" on AC5300 - Merlin 384.13

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by COBOL-Coder, Nov 8, 2019.

  1. COBOL-Coder

    COBOL-Coder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    When I first installed my AC5300 I was enamored with Smart Connect, now, not so much. I've decided to disable SC and return to the more (my opinion) reliable "do it yourself" option. My question is finding the best way to accomplish this without starting from scratch. Any step by step advice would be much appreciated.
     
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,674
    Location:
    USA
    Just turn it OFF and change the WiFi settings to what you want. Assuming most of your wireless clients use 5.0 GHz, keep that SSID and define a separate 2.4 GHz SSID.

    I use these settings:

    o 2.4 GHz WLAN to OE-24, n-only, 20 MHz, ch 1,6,11 or 1,5,9,13 (non-overlapping; use least congested), WPA2-Personal AES*

    o 5.0 GHz WLAN to OE, n/ac mixed, 80 MHz, ch 149 or above (US, non-radar, highest Tx power), WPA2-Personal AES*

    If I return to using Smart Connect and same SSIDs, OE-24 will become OE again.

    OE
     
  3. COBOL-Coder

    COBOL-Coder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Thanks OE, for taking the time. As a Very Senior Member this exercise must be like childs play but to someone with my level of router implementaion experience, it can be daunting. I know enough to turn it off, its the details of assigning each client to a bandwidth that escape me. I can work selecting the best channel(s) but when you write "o 2.4 GHz WLAN to OE-24, n-only, 20 MHz, ch 1,6,11 or 1,5,9,13 (non-overlapping; use least congested), WPA2-Personal AES*" while some of it is discernable the OE-24, n-only, etc. is Greek to me. I'll give it a shot though. Thanks again.
     
  4. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,674
    Location:
    USA
    Those are just the select settings I make in the router webUI under Wireless for each band. If you can login to the router and poke around, you will find these settings... be sure to select the band first to see its settings.

    You do not change anything on the clients other than select and define their WLAN connection. Their WLAN adapter may have settings, but the defaults are often adequate.

    Also, there are many FAQs to read on the ASUS Support website for a given router model.

    Feel free to ask specific questions.

    OE
     
  5. COBOL-Coder

    COBOL-Coder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Thanks OE, thats all very helpful, I'll give that a try...
     
  6. COBOL-Coder

    COBOL-Coder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Thanks OE, that's all very helpful, I'll certainly give that a try, thanks again…
     
  7. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,584
    You wont find OE-24 with google or in this forum.
    OE-24 is nothing else as his SSID (OzarkEdge-2.4G), you could name yours CC-24 ;)
     
    royarcher and OzarkEdge like this.