1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Is it possible to add BRT routers features into Merlin firmware?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by tiko, Jan 20, 2019.

  1. tiko

    tiko New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Is it possible to take features on ASUSWRT for BRT router series, like "Free Wifi", and use them on AC68U?
     
  2. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    пішли на риболовлю
    Look at the specifications of both models , they are entirely different.

    BRT is Qualcom based and 4x4 wireless. AC68U Broadcom based and 3x3 wireless.
     
  3. tiko

    tiko New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks for your answer, although I do need those kind of features, I was thinking about programming but I can't tell if I have the time. I do have an AC87U that astonishingly is slower than the AC68U, that's why I named the other one first.

    Maybe it would be easily to purchase the BRT
     
  4. SwampKracker

    SwampKracker Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    I don't think Merlin wants to kill his relationship with Asus by adding "BRT" features to "RT" models, plus that goes beyond the scope of what he is doing anyway. If you have a need (business or personal) for features that only exist on "BRT" models, then purchasing a "BRT" model is the correct choice.
     
    tiko likes this.
  5. slobodan

    slobodan Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    DD-WRT and Tomato have NoCat and such, if that is what you mean.
     
    tiko likes this.