What's new

LAN setup and online access to NAS.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

barny

New Around Here
Hi
I am a novice, I want to find the best way to organise our LAN and I would also like to have remote access to a NAS. We have telephone and net (@ max 5.5Mbps download) connected through a Vodafone Easybox 803, we also have a Netgear R6250, 3 computers (2 x Ubuntu Mate and 1 windows) and a qnap TS-251+.
Router user guides:
https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/R6250/R6250_UM_15April13.pdf
http://media.vodafone.de/www/assets...services/dsl-easybox803-arcadyan-20100412.pdf

I currently have the NAS connecting with a static IP via Ethernet to the Easybox which also has Ethernet connections to two of the computers (windows and 1x Mate) and the Netgear router. The third computer connects via Easybox WIFI. At the moment the Netgear is only connecting to a TV via ac WIFI. This setup works well but I am wondering if it could be improved.

Also, I would like to set up remote access for the NAS.
I know I can use a qnap app/server to achieve this (I haven’t tried it) but because I have not done anything like this before I would like to explore the process of creating my own setup-connection.
I am not sure about the potential-limits of the Easybox setup (its instructions are in German). The Netgear router appears versatile; it can run with an installed VPN and if needed, can also be flashed with DD-WRT... but what setup is best?

I have been doing some research, however in an uncharacteristic display of caution, where router setup is required, I don’t think my usual learning process of “give it a go, what can possibly go wrong” is the best approach... o_O