What's new

Maybe replacing ASUS RT-AC86U - need suggestions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Patrick9876

Regular Contributor
I've been using an ASUS RT-AC86U with Merlin firmware for a few years and have been completely satisfied with its reliability, performance, and wireless coverage. However, I was just told that the router's lack of 802.11ax may be the source of a Dell laptop's WiFi problem. I'm not sure I buy this reasoning (which I'll describe at the end of this posting) but it's got me thinking about a router upgrade. My only requirements are
  • Wireless performance at least as good as the RT-AC86U for connections up to about 30 feet (through a couple plasterboard walls and/or one wooden floor)
  • 1 Gb Ethernet (no need for 2.5 Ethernet)
  • Support for OpenVPN server
  • DDNS support (preferably FreeDNS.Afraid.org, but I could switch)
  • Ability to add CNAME records to the router's DNS server. (Dnsmasq or something similar.)
  • Preferably not having to use OpenWrt, DD-WRT, or Tomato. (Does Tomato still exist?) In other words, staying with Merlin would be nice.
So far I've looked only at ASUS routers. Based on the doc, reviews, etc.,
RT-AX86U is probably overkill (and expensive) for my needs.
RT-AX86S might be a reasonable choice
RT-AX82U (if the rgb junk can be turned off)

Any comments on these routers? Any other suggestions that would meet my (pretty limited) needs?

Background - the reason I might need to upgrade.