What's new

Memory usage

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

nospamever

Regular Contributor
AT the moment my RT-AC86U with Merlin 386_7, Diversion Standard and YazDHCP is running at 81% or 413mb memory usage. AI Protection uses 82mb and Diversion uses 19mb. Disabling both AI Prortection and Diversion while keeping YazDHCP, my memory usage is 315mb or 61%. Ai Protection and Diversion are on normal settings and I have not changed default values. Are these memory numbers look normal?

Thanks I read it but not sure what it means. Tried the command $ free -m but did not work for me. Sorry I am just starting out.
The command is "free -m" (without quotes), not "$ free -m".

Example:
mem.jpg

Basically, the system will use available memory to cache processes to increase performance. If you install RMerin firmware to allow running custom scripts, several of these scripts will create a swap file on a usb drive to use as virtual memory.

This is not the technical explanation, just a simplified version. :)

Ok got it. Since I started this post, I created a 2GB swap file using AMTM. So free -m looks like below:

1666960580130.png

1666960636649.png

AT the moment my RT-AC86U with Merlin 386_7, Diversion Standard and YazDHCP is running at 81% or 413mb memory usage. AI Protection uses 82mb and Diversion uses 19mb. Disabling both AI Prortection and Diversion while keeping YazDHCP, my memory usage is 315mb or 61%. Ai Protection and Diversion are on normal settings and I have not changed default values. Are these memory numbers look normal?