What's new

Need help getting RT-AX86U set up.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Malini

New Around Here
Hey, everyone.

I'm a total newbie; apologies in advance for my ignorance.

I've been using the router provided by my (cable) ISP until today. I bought an ASUS RT-AX86U off eBay and am trying to set it up.

I unplugged the modem, disconnected the ISP's router, connected the modem to the new router and plugged both in.

The modem lights come on and are steady. The router lights indicating power and connectivity come on briefly, then go dark again & stay dark. I've tried unplugging the router and plugging it back in several times. It does the same thing every time. I tried resetting the modem again; that didn't change anything either.

I installed ASUS's router app on my (Android) phone. I tapped on Setup (Set up a new router). I chose the appropriate router series. The next screen says "Select your router to set up." Under that, I see what looks like it must be my router. It's listed as ASUS_E0. Under that name, there are a couple strings of letters, colons & numbers -- FC:34:97:38:99:E0 and FC:34:97:38:99:E4. The signal strength is shown to be "Great."

When I tap on it, I see a screen that tells me to open my mobile device's wireless settings, find and connect to my router's SSID, then return to the ASUS router app.

When I'm in settings, I see ASUS_E0 at the top of the list of wireless networks with maximum signal strength. However, when I tap on it, it asks me for a password.

What am I supposed to put as the password?! I don't see anything on the router itself, nor on any of the instructions that came with it, regarding what to put there!!