What's new

New RT-AC68R VS AC68P

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TFNG2015

Occasional Visitor
The new guy here. Just purchased a 68R. I'm a woodworker so I threw together a "cradle" to mount from ceiling. Not vertical. Face down with base in cradle approximately a 25 degree angle upward towards ceiling. Top of router (antennas) is approximately 8 inches from ceiling. In hallway, center of home. No problems, other than self inflicted as of yet. Updated Firmware to RT-AC68U_3.0.0.4_374.43_2-10j9527.trx.

CPU temp is running 92 c. Searching these forums I see a lot saying this is too high. However, I have seen several saying acceptable. Here's my issue. 3 days left to return for exchange. Is this an acceptable temp? If not, should I return for same, or do the 68P? If I should do the latter, will this firmware work on the 68P as well. Seems to be the same from what I see. Just trying to verify from this intelligent crowd.

Sorry if this is a repeat. New to this whole thing and hitting snb has become my new school, hobby and relaxation after a days work.

Enclosing pic of router mounting. Should have plenty of air circulation. Temp just seems high from what I would expect. No knowledge and reading makes for a concerned individual. Don't laugh too loud, not finished yet and a rush job.

Thanks to all.

Attachments

• unnamed.jpg
    unnamed.jpg
    22.8 KB · Views: 562
Roughly 24c. Yes, I assume that would be idle. Came in from work and logged on just to see. No other activity other than idle connections.

Possibly the updated firmware, mounting position, or possibly the unit itself?