1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Outdoor NEMA box for Time Warner Cable modem?

Discussion in 'Other LAN and WAN' started by Scooterit, May 14, 2016.

  1. Scooterit

    Scooterit Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Hi,

    Rather than trenching a conduit for a coax cable we can install a box at the gate where Time Warner can install their cable modem. From there I will take care of getting the data to our home and offices.

    Other than 110V and Ground are there any specific requirements with regards for a outdoor rated enclosure?

    Any other advice?

    Thanks!!!

    Rogier
     
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,618
    This sounds like a bad idea? What are the temperature swings in your location? How will excess heat, cold and humidity be taken care of? What about vandalism?

    Is the savings that much to consider this option?
     
  3. Scooterit

    Scooterit Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Luckily we live in Southern California no huge temperature swings or extreme weather.
    I will install it in the shade in a spot enclosed by heavy stone work. If needed I can add insulation, ventilation or some heating for the few times per year it freezes.

    Vandalism is no concern.

    Yes it will cost us many thousands of dollars to trench the conduit from the street to the home.
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,618

    Good that the temperatures won't be too much of an issue.

    But, if it will cost thousands of dollars to reach the home, that must be some home, huh?

    Are we talking miles or just a few yards for that kind of cost?
     
  5. Scooterit

    Scooterit Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    500 yards uphill trough hard soil and a archtectured landscape. This is not a lawn!
     
  6. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,618
    500 yards? Buy a few beers and pizzas for your closest buddies and done. :)
     
  7. Scooterit

    Scooterit Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Guess you dont understand the phrases "Architectured Landscape" and "Hard Soil" (with rocks)
     
  8. KenZ71

    KenZ71 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Ok, so assuming the modem is placed at the gate how will it be powered?

    How will the signal get to the home? Going to need a few plugs.....

    Hold on, no cable TV in the home already?
     
  9. GregD

    GregD Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    I'm also interested in a solution like this but how you will power the device out by the gate is key.

    Have you considered direct burial cable in lieu of conduit? DBC still requires trenching but overall cost should be lower.

    It's already been asked but I'm not sure how you plan to get the data from the gate to your house. Keep in mind maximum length of CAT5e/6 should not exceed 100 meters.

    For my application, might go with something like this: https://cradlepoint.com/products/nema-enclosure-kit#!desc
     
  10. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,332
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Plenty of private contractors with ditch-witches with not much to do in SoCal - I'm here out west, and we all know the west is the best...

    Free call to SDGE/ATT/Water company (Otay/Helix is common out here in East County San Diego) to mark out the keep out spots, and this tranch/cable run is perhaps 3-5 hours tops - about $1K all done... seriously - and TWC will work with the primary to set up a pedestal...

    Thing is - gotta take charge of the situation and become the primary - TWC/Cox won't do that...

    When attaching the outside world - power/telco/cable/satellite DBS - keep them close to the demarc, and bond them to a common ground, normally the electric company ground stake...

    Safety first...
     
  11. Scooterit

    Scooterit Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    I was planning on running a direct burrial fiber optic.

    Meantime I have fenageled an arrangemenf were I will run RG11 direct burrial myself. They dont need to know it isnt in a conduit ;-)
     
  12. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,332
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    do it to code - seriously...
     
  13. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,618
    I guess they just found out. :)
     
  14. cobra_shipwreck

    cobra_shipwreck Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    l-com.com should sell any box and wire/conduit for your needs. Their antenna products are second to none.