What's new

Pondering NAS for home - DS414, or wait?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Rosco

Occasional Visitor
First off, forgive my the post length, I tend to do it ramble a bit, but I also like to think a well thought out post will receive well thought out response.

OK, so I'm new to modern NAS servers, but not to networking in general. Basically, a while back I saw reviews for WD's My Cloud, and after reading about all its nifty features, I remember thinking that'd be sweet, but it'd be nice if there was a model with RAID for redundancy. Low and behold, the EX4.

Once I actually began seriously researching it though, I found that it was relatively low-end, and that there are other comparable units capable of far more. I've been digging around for weeks, and I think I've more or less trimmed it down to Synology's DS414, but for a few nagging questions.

(Found this post very useful in my decisions: http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/nas-features/31592-deciding-between-synology-vs-qnap )

"What do I want to use it for?" I originally wanted just a storage space, but now that I'm more familiar with the capabilities a NAS server might have, I'm inclined to use it for download management and media serving, and possibly hosting my website's domain somewhere down the line. My only physical requirement is that it's at least a 4-bay unit, and performance isn't primary concern since it's just a home unit, and I'm a patient man.

As far as media serving goes, it would be ideal to have a NAS capable of it, but it's not a 100% deal breaker. I can run various media servers from my PC, which is on almost all the time anyway. Just would be a nuisance when another device wants media, and my PC is in use for other reasons.