What's new

Proposal for a new test

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Zepplock

New Around Here
Hello All,

I've been reading articles here for some time (and forums too) and finally decided to subscribe. You guys are doing great job here!!!

Preface:
I'm a professional software developer (mostly high performance servers and networking). Recently I had a project where I had to develop a system to manage wireless sensors (large amount of them). Part of the project was to choose and deploy wireless access points. People I was working with claimed that they can buy $30-$100 ones at Frys/Newegg and run with them. I was very skeptical.

Test:
They bough like 10 different ones and tested them like this: a dozen of G wireless clients connecting to the wifi access point, and accessing an HTTP server every minute or two (simple HTTP GET).

Results:
Not a single access point could reliably pass the test. Issues encountered:
- Unreliable dhcp servers (can't get IP address)
- weird delays in getting a wifi link (200ms usually but can take up to 2-3 seconds, probably due to WEP/Security?)
- hanging up, requiring a hard reset
- signal dropouts (can't get a wifi link)

Proposal:
Devise a test which can stress test access points for at least a week by simulating a dozed of wifi devices with different patterns:
- frequent on/off, requiring a wifi link negotiation several times an hour
- ocasional file transfer (max bandwidth)
- movie watching (mid-level bandwidth) but for 2 hours
- web browsing (bursts of traffic with several tcp connections open)
etc

- Unreliable dhcp servers (can't get IP address)