What's new

Question re AC68U IP generation from MAC address

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

OttoL

New Around Here
Hi all, relative noob here. I couldn't find an answer to the question at hand in the forums so if this has been mentioned somewhere in another thread I apologise.

Recently I noticed that my internet speed was around 1/5 of what I was paying for (1Gb over glass fiber). I checked the speed before my router (AC68U, which has been working fine for years) and the speed was fine there so it was the router. Of note, I've been using the Merlin firmware for years, mainly to allow install of Skynet and Diversion. After quite a bit of searching I decided to do a factory reset (first one in years after numerous firmware updates), which did bring my speed after the router to more reasonable values (50-75% of max) even though it could still be better.

ANYWAY, to come to my question. I had to reconfigure a few things after the reset (e.g. re-establish the WIFI SSID etc, re-initiate Skynet & Diversion), a bit annoying but OK. What struck me though is the following. I have some 15 IoT dimmers, lights and switches connected via WiFi. Strangely all of these had received different DHCP IP addresses from before the reset. I was under the impression that the DHCP-attributed IP was calculated by the ASUS based on the MAC of connected devices, so how can that be? A number of devices which I had given a fixed IP address via the router äddresses around the DHCP pool) still had their old IP attributed by DHCP even though they did not show up in the list of fixed DHCP addresses anymore... so e.g. my VOIP box, satellite and TV still had their old IP's (and no, there is no static address configured in those devices).